The World of Neonatal Care

Ask Questions

Posted on: January 27, 2011

A neonatal nurse is there to help those who have infants under their care.  If you have questions about what is going on with your infant or if there is anything you can do be sure to ask.  The neonatal nurse will answer as many questions as she or he can. Don’t hesitate to ask anything. As a neonatal nurse part of their job is to reassure you and make sure any questions that you do have are answered to the best of their ability. Make sure you ask as many questions as you need to. A lot of times this will help you to be at ease so you don’t find yourself wondering about things, instead you will know.

Some questions you may want to ask:

  • How long will my baby be in the unit?
  • What, specifically, is the problem?
  • What will be involved in my baby’s treatment and daily care?
  • What medicines will my baby have to take?
  • What types of tests will be done?
  • What can my baby eat and when?
  • Will I be able to nurse or bottle-feed my baby — if so, when and how?
  • Will someone help me learn how to nurse my baby?
  • What can I do to help my baby?
  • Will I be able to hold or touch my baby?
  • How often and for how long can I stay in the unit? Can I sleep there?
  • What sort of care will my baby need when we get home?
  • Is there someone who can help us through the process?

 

Leave a comment

Categories